My Journey into Tech

My Journey into Tech

From Biochemistry to Computer Science

ยท

3 min read

Once upon a time in the ancient times of 2015, I gained admission into the university to study Biochemistry, always been a chemistry lover (hated biology tho ๐Ÿคง) but I never felt that spark of joy in school. I always felt a bit lost in class and unsure of what was going on around and I took the bold step of dropping out of school ๐Ÿ˜“.

I decided to take a break to decide what my next step was going to be and what I wanted to do. I had always loved computers, never failed computer science in secondary school and I was always interested in watching my brother programming so I took a big decision and decided to try uni again with Computer Science being my focus.

The Aha Moment

It was in 2017, that we had a program that was hosted by the Google Developers Group (GDG) where fresh-faced 100 level students eagerly awaited the Introduction to Web development talk hosted by Tosin Bot. He built a simple login page for us, explained the basics of HTML and CSS and gave us resources we could use to continue with our learning.

The talk lasted for 2 hours but it started a spark in me to learn more about Web development. I signed up FreeCodeCamp and Sololearn and started the Web development paths, it was a bit hard to do because I had to use my tab for it, I was so excited for the summer break cause I had many plans for it.

I enrolled in a web design bootcamp throughout the summer break, learnt the basics of HTML, CSS and JavaScript enough to build applications and I also learnt took a very important piece of advice to heart which was "Rather than diving first to learn the syntax of a language, learn the logic first as most languages have the same programming logic in use". That advice helped me academically and also professionally.

I took a full year of constant learning before I started applying for internships (Imposter syndrome ๐Ÿ˜…) and also joined tech communities to meet with other developers around me.

The Present

I am glad I made that transition even though it took 2 years from me, I have loved every minute ๐Ÿคฅ, have continued learning as it never stops and also taken time to mentor other ladies who want to get into tech through programs and hackathons.

Tech is not always a bed of roses and also not a bed of thorns too, so keep pushing even when it gets hard or the bugs don't want to be squashed and I wish you the very best.

Connect with me on:

Linkedin: Uzochukwu Precious

Github: Uzor13

Website: uzor.codes

ย